The Spiritual Path to Awakening

The universal path to awakening is mentioned in many esoteric texts throughout the history. To get the full understanding of it, you should first read my previous article The Wheel of Samsara, and the purpose of human life.

Many secret schools existed in the past that were teaching this very path, some of them are the Hermetic Order, the Rosicrucian, the Freemasons etc. It can also be found in legends, myths and arts of the past – it is depicted in the story of Odyssey, Jason and the Argonauts, the quest of knights for the Holy Grail, in the opera the Magic Flute by Mozart, and many others.

The teachings of many ancient schools have sadly degenerated and/or gotten lost, so for example we can see that Freemasons today are something very different than original spiritual teachings leading toward the light. The path was the same in ancient Egypt, among Mayas, Incas, ancient Hindus, Nordic, Druids, and many other spiritual cultures that existed. They were aware of the universal techniques and process to full awakening.

There are many spiritual and pseudo-spiritual paths today leading to many different ends. Many of them say that they lead to enlightenment, but when you inquire about what they mean by that, you discover many of them are referring to various forms of Samadhi. This means that through meditation they penetrate into various higher realities, the ultimate of them being the God-consciousness. Through this they realize the true nature of existence and how it relates to them and every other living creature. Even though such meditative states are possible to achieve, once the meditation is over, they come back to their bodies and are again trapped within the limits of the animal egos. Egos do not just vanish by this realization.

Achieving such states is immensely beneficial, but there is much more to it than just that. The teachings state about the universal path leading to becoming a fully awakened spiritual being, merged with ones own Monad/Being, being free from this galaxy and the whole Universe, with the permission to permanently return to the Source of all life. Such ultimate freedom grants an infinity of choices, whether it is to stay within the dimensions, or to return back to the Source.

The path that leads to that is the same for everyone and it consists of many tests and initiations.

The Path

The path is split in 3 major parts, known as the Three Mountains.

The objective of it is:

–   to completely eliminate the animal egos (by reducing them, the parts of our consciousness that are trapped in them go back to our main consciousness)

–   to build high energy bodies which will allow incarnation of higher parts of our Being in us, and therefore to merge with it.

To start walking upon it you have to practice the three main keys to awakening: death of the egos, alchemy (white tantra), and helping others spiritually.

Before the main path is the probative path. Sexual energy is very much related to advancement, so you start by being chaste (not to be confused with celibacy) and changing the nature of the sexual energy (by practicing elimination of egos and, if you have a partner, alchemy). The sexual energy is the root of all other energies within you, therefore as it changes it affects other energies and you become clearer and balanced. There are 4 main tests of the probative path – the test of fire, water, earth and air (these are related to anger, attachments, how we face difficulties and the unpleasant situations of life).

There are also many other tests thrown to us by spiritual beings to see how we are going, testing all of our psychological defects.. When the nature of the energies is purified and symbolized by the red color (which you can see in a dream), then Kundalini awakens and the path has begun.

The First Mountain

Each mountain has 8 initiations. In the first mountain, with alchemy we build the 7 (inner) solar bodies – solar physical, solar vital, solar astral, solar mental, solar causal, solar buddhic and solar atmic. With the solar causal body we also incarnate the part of our Being that resides in the causal plane, called the Human Soul. With the solar buddhic we incarnate another part that resides in the buddhic plane, called the Divine Soul. And by building the solar atmic body we incarnate the Atman/Spirit.

The Kundalini raises up the spine vertebra by vertebra as the 3 keys are practiced. As it raises it opens up the chakras. It has to be raised within each of these bodies. 7 initiations correspond to the 7 bodies, and we get them fully as we pass the initiations. The initiations in this case are like big tests, where our egos are stirred up and our reactions are tested.

Solar bodies bring with them their benefits, so for example it is said that with solar astral we feel higher emotions; with solar mental we have access to superior way of thinking; with incarnation of the first part of the Being, the human soul, we start feeling true happiness. This happiness is intensified as other parts of the Being are incarnated, like the Divine Soul and the Atman.

When we incarnate the Atman, we have received a grade of spiritual mastery. This means that we have passed all the 7 initiations and that we have eliminated 50% of the egos (this is the requirement to finish the First mountain). The final, 8th initiation, is to rest. By completing the First Mountain we have freed ourselves from the law of karma and the Wheel of Samsara, and have freedom to stay in higher dimensions. Another advantage is that we can return back to the physical to continue the path during the new Golden Age, when the environment for it will be much more beneficial.

The Second and Third Mountains

The second mountain is said to be much more difficult; on it the solar bodies are replaced by the golden bodies, which are higher ones and are capable of receiving higher parts of the Being. The process is the same as on the first mountain – bodies are built with alchemy, and by practicing the three keys the Kundalini is raised in all of them. Initiations here are much more difficult and the requirements for passing them are more strict. On this mountain we incarnate the Father, the Christ, and the Holy Spirit – all of them being large parts of the Being. With the completion of the Second Mountain we achieve Resurrection and don’t have to return to the physical dimension any longer. Instead, if we want, we can work on the Third Mountain in the astral plane.

On the third mountain we replace golden bodies with the bodies of light. On it, all parts of the Being we have incarnated merge into one and we become Unity once again. Then with the completion we have finished the Work and have achieved Ascension, the ultimate purpose of human life and the ultimate freedom. It is then when an infinity of choices opens up for us.


That was a basic description of the path to complete awakening. It is described in depth in the book Secret Knowledge, Hidden Wisdom by Belzebuub. This book will be updated and released as a free ebook in the future (when it does I will post the link to it in the book section).

Samael Aun Weor also writes about the path in his book The Three Mountains, however he does not explain it as clearly as Belzebuub. You can download this book from the book section on this blog.

If you try practicing the Keys you will notice that things will start to happen. I will write about the 3 keys in my next blog.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s